EMAlumni Award

This year, for the third time, the EMAlumni Association recognises the value and contribution that EMA alumni bring to society, as a legacy of the EMA spirit and commitment towards the advancement of human rights and democratisation.

The award is aimed at recognising the work of an Alum who, through their work and/or volunteering activities has made (and is making) a significant contribution to the advancement of human rights and democratisation in the world.


Eligibility criteria:

  • Be a graduate from the European Master’s Programme in Human Rights and Democratisation. Those currently enrolled as EMA students (i.e. graduating in 2021) are not eligible to nominate or be nominated;
  • Have significantly contributed to the development and advancement of human rights and democratisation through their professional occupation, or through collateral, volunteer and/or recreational projects and activities.
  • The impact on human rights and democratisation of the Alumni’s activity shall be tangible and easily identifiable;
  • Be able to document the aforementioned activity and their contribution to it.
  • Not be a current member of the Board, the Secretary-General, or member of the panel (soon to be announced)

Please note that nominations of any of the above-mentioned people should be deemed invalid.

Nomination procedure:
  • All EMA Alumni can nominate a maximum of 1 Alum they think deserves the EMAlumni Award. Those currently enrolled as EMA students (i.e. graduating the current year) cannot send nominations;
  • Alumni cannot nominate themselves, current Board members, the Secretary-General or a member of the panel (below)
  • Panel members cannot nominate fellow Alumni

Selection Procedure:

  • The prize is awarded by the EMAlumni Association
  • The members of the panel should neither nominate nor be nominated by others, to avoid any conflict of interest
  • Award of the Prize: the recipient of the EMAlumni Award will be invited to Venice during the Graduation Ceremony in September to receive the award.

The Award is an artwork entitled Collective Memory by Belgian artist Koen Vanmechelen. The artist and the Fondazione Berengo have generously donated the piece.

Previous Editions:

2020 – Laura Pasquero

2019 – Milen Kidane

For any comment, suggestion or for further information you can send an email to theodora@emalumni.org